My boss is a robot

tumblr_ml0icdyy0e1r04g55o2_400

A real robot.

I’m being serious here. Is she even human? I’m not talking about her lack of emotion, because she can get emotional when she wants to. Or needs to, just to get what she wants.

Here’s why I say she’s a robot.

She comes to work early, she goes back very late.

Every single day! She comes in before most of us do. Usually, I can already hear the sound of her loud voice as she talks on the phone whenever I come to the office. I sit down and I sign-in to my computer. I pray hard that she wouldn’t call me and for her to just leave the office for her many meetings. Fast forward to end of the day. She comes back to the office after her back-to-back meetings. Sometimes, she would be back during lunch and leave again. After office hours is the only time she has to see her subordinates and for us to update her with anything. She would stay until 9-10 pm, before she leaves. Rinse and repeat. She even works on weekends.

Normal human beings need to rest. I bet she goes back and plug into a socket to recharge.

Okay, okay, so you may say that is how most bosses work. Here’s my second point.

I have never seen her eat.

As I said, she comes in early, then she goes out for meetings. She comes back during lunch hour and asks us to see her even though we haven’t had a bite to eat. We all were forced to work late, but I’ve never seen her eat any evening meals.

I was just talking about this with one of my team mates who have been with her way longer. She denied it and said she has seen the boss eating.I refuse to believe until I see it myself. Gosh, now I just sound like I’m paranoid.

She lacks empathy and is very persistent that everything goes her way or the highway.

One of my teammates had to work despite her daughter being sick. The boss doesn’t care about you or the fact that you have family.And when you are sick, you have to work because nobody is gonna be covering for you.

Whenever she talks to anyone, she has to be right. ALL. THE. TIME.

Then what is the point of asking other people’s opinion? I simply don’t get it. It’s like her algorithm is stuck in an infinite loop. Until she gets what she wants.To make it worse, she micromanages. Every little decision needs to go through her, she wants to know all the details.

Other than that, she is a selective listener. She only listens to what she wants to hear. She can’t understand if I give my input on certain matters if it doesn’t meet her expectations. She just couldn’t compute certain things. Only when I say, “Sure, I’ll do it right away”, that she understands me.

So there it is. My boss, the robot.

Leave a Reply

